Pollutants, Waste, Industrial sectors

Which pollutant emissions are featured on Thru.de?

The European PRTR Regulation (PRTR Regulation) requires operators to report on up to 91 pollutants or pollutant groups.

All pollutants

Air pollutants (60 pollutants)

Water pollutants (71 pollutants)

Soil pollutants (61 pollutants)

An operator carrying out any activity included in the PRTR needs to report pollution loads only – to the competent authority in the relevant Land – if the emission exceeds the threshold value for the specific pollutant.

Which types of waste are reported on Thru.de?

The EU E-PRTR Regulation distinguishes between two types of waste: hazardous and non-hazardous. Thru.de features information about both types of waste.

Facilities must report if they produce

  • more than two tons of hazardous waste or
  • more than 2.000 tonnes of non-hazardous waste

within a year which they dispose off-site.

Waste is considered hazardous, if it is toxic or corrosive, irritating to the skin or might even be carcinogenic. Examples of this type of waste include adhesives, various kinds of lubricating oils, brake fluids as well as paints and varnishes which contain solvents.

Non-hazardous waste, on the other hand includes packaging material made of paper, cardboard or plastic.

Furthermore, the Regulation – and Thru.de – distinguishes waste that is destined for

  • recovery (R) and/or
  • disposal (D).

Recovery of waste means that waste is re-used either via recycling or via processes that generate energy. In the first case, waste is either recycled or valuable components such as metals are extracted from it. In the latter case, it is used as a substitute fuel, for example in cement production.

In contrast, waste disposal means that the waste is removed from the economic cycle. It may then be disposed to a landfill or burned at an incineration plant.

If a facility disposes hazardous waste abroad, it must provide the name and address of the receiver or the disposer of the waste and the actual recovery or disposal site.

Which industrial sectors are included on Thru.de?

There is a list in the E-PRTR Regulation – in Annex I to the Regulation - of 65 different industrial activities.

The operator of each facility that undertakes one or more of the activities specified in Annex I above the applicable capacity thresholds specified therein shall communicate to its competent authority the information identifying the facility in accordance with Annex III of the Regulation. The 65 activities are subdivided into nine industrial sectors as follows:

1. Energy sector
e.g. power stations, refineries

2. Production and processing of metals
e.g. steelworks, foundries, electroplating facilities

3. Mineral industry
e.g. coal mines, quarries, cement plants

4. Chemical industry
e.g. chemical plants, pesticide manufacturing facilities

5. Waste and wastewater management
e.g. waste incineration installations, landfills, wastewater treatment plants

6. Paper and wood production and processing
e.g. paper production, fibreboard industry

7. Intensive livestock production and aquaculture
e.g. pig fattening farms, poultry farms

8. Animal and vegetable products from the food and beverage sector
e.g. slaughterhouses, dairy farms

9. Other activities
e.g. tanneries, shipyards, paint shops